It’s amazing, really. NGA emails were consistently blocked by the museum in Hong Kong (which is government-run) when we were working on the Rothko exhibition.
Infobib.de seems to be blocked for chinese users, if you believe the above mentioned site “great wall of china”. But it is definetly accessible. The service does not work, and in this case it is more harmful than useful for the anti censorship movement. Please do not spread that service! We have to base our arguments on reliable informations.
Interesting. I have a hard time believing that every IP in China is actually subject to whatever “firewall” they have in place. If you think about the scale of this type of censorship, it’s likely that there are a lot of “holes” in their curtain.
Also, as my sister (Janet) pointed out, denial of service tends to be sporadic and may be dependent upon any number of things. It’s not as though China has a publicly viewable list of banned sites and the reason for it.
That being said, CH, the site I linked to does say that there may be technical reasons for sites being reported as blocked. I did do a little experiment where I used the tool to test another web site on the same server, using the same IP as blyberg.net and it was not blocked. That rules out any network problems that may have been affecting the result, but doesn’t rule out any other issues like DNS resolution.
If this blog is, indeed, being blocked, I’d sure love to know why–Yours too Maire!
9 Comments so far
Leave a comment
But I can still(always) visit your blog from Shanghai, China. See: http://www.flickr.com/photos/liusicheng/419342386/
By keven on 03.12.07 6:16 pm | Permalink
I’m blocked too. However, libraryforlife is not.
By maire on 03.12.07 6:46 pm | Permalink
[...] via: blyberg [...]
By Your URL is blocked! « Bibliotan on 03.12.07 7:14 pm | Permalink
It’s amazing, really. NGA emails were consistently blocked by the museum in Hong Kong (which is government-run) when we were working on the Rothko exhibition.
By Janet on 03.12.07 10:45 pm | Permalink
[...] via: blyberg [...]
By Censur Net on 03.13.07 12:50 am | Permalink
Infobib.de seems to be blocked for chinese users, if you believe the above mentioned site “great wall of china”. But it is definetly accessible. The service does not work, and in this case it is more harmful than useful for the anti censorship movement. Please do not spread that service! We have to base our arguments on reliable informations.
By CH on 03.13.07 3:24 am | Permalink
Interesting. I have a hard time believing that every IP in China is actually subject to whatever “firewall” they have in place. If you think about the scale of this type of censorship, it’s likely that there are a lot of “holes” in their curtain.
Also, as my sister (Janet) pointed out, denial of service tends to be sporadic and may be dependent upon any number of things. It’s not as though China has a publicly viewable list of banned sites and the reason for it.
That being said, CH, the site I linked to does say that there may be technical reasons for sites being reported as blocked. I did do a little experiment where I used the tool to test another web site on the same server, using the same IP as blyberg.net and it was not blocked. That rules out any network problems that may have been affecting the result, but doesn’t rule out any other issues like DNS resolution.
If this blog is, indeed, being blocked, I’d sure love to know why–Yours too Maire!
By john on 03.13.07 8:31 am | Permalink
Some sites, that are hosted on the same server as infobib.de are not shown as blocked, too.
It seems as if the technique that is used to find out “blocked” sites is not really sophisticated.
By CH on 03.19.07 8:28 am | Permalink
[...] dank aan: Blyberg.net Tags:Blogs china [...]
By Mijn blog en China at Moqub’s bibliotheek van dingen on 04.25.07 1:12 pm | Permalink
Leave a comment
Line and paragraph breaks automatic, e-mail address never displayed, HTML allowed:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>